The Beauty Journal

Winter Perfume I

Posted on: January 22, 2010

Hi hi everybody,

I would like to start a “My Winter Perfume” series today. I have perfumes I love to use in the cold season because they smell warm but at the same time don’t overwhelm the people around me. I will talk about one perfume each week. Let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

The first perfume I am going to introduce to you is Anna Sui Classic

Anna Sui Classic Eau de Toilette 1.7 fl/50 ml

This fragrance is launched by Anna Sui in 1999, this perfume perfectly embodies the true spirit of the designer: It is very feminine and powdery, which makes it so distinctly different from other Anna Sui perfumes (e.g., Sui Dream, Dolly Girl, and Secret Wish etc.)

It smells more floral than fruity to me. Even though its ingredients include Bergamot, raspberry, and apricot. The Bulgarian rose and jasmine scents linger with me from the moment I spray the perfume on till the fragrance is completely washed off by time. And did I tell you that I love powdery scents? The cedarwood and powdery tonka make the perfume smelling like a rose in an antique vase.

I am also a sucker for packaging. Needless to say, this perfume’s bottle was love at first sight. I have always appreciated Anna Sui’s aesthetic. If you have been to her boutique at Soho in New York City you already know what I mean. Her romantic gothic design is perfectly presented on this bottle: clear glass bottle framed in black gothic patterns. The rose-shaped cap and purple colored perfume makes the entire ensemble almost poetic.

I have been pursuing the right fragrance as my signature scent, and I am glad I have finally found the right one. It is not as heavily marketed as other fragrances in America (although we cannot ignore the fact that Anna Sui Beauty is wildly popular in Asia), which makes me feel more special wearing it.

I would recommend this fragrance to any romantic, nostalgic soul.

What is your signature scent? Let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Responses to "Winter Perfume I"

I want to try this one though I can use a sample for years. These days, a lot of brands extend to fragrance and make perfume loose its spirit. eg. E…L…, I am even allergic to it. Hate that!

I know what you mean. I have so many little sample ones in my makeup bag that I never use and who knows when I will ever finish them!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

