The Beauty Journal

St. Valentine’s Day Gift Ideas for Her

Posted on: February 10, 2010

Hello you!

I am very happy that my last two posts were well received, I thought it would be great to write a post on VDay gifts for girls. I hope this post will help guys who have no idea about makeup but want to get something your girls always want/ are willing to try. I did a careful selection for the items I listed below. They are award-winning, best-seller products recommended by numerous beauty gurus and bloggers. If you are or your girl is at all interested in cosmetics, you know they are the best choice out there. I have tried, and loved all of them, so you can count on me with my comments.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

  • Urban Decay Eye Primer Potion ($18): “What is primer anyway?” — you may ask. Let’s consider it as an eye shadow magnet. It is a cream that you apply on your eyelids/under your eye  before you apply eyeshadows. This extra step will help: 1. make your eyeshadow last. Eyeshadows will not crease or fade in a very long time. I usually apply makeup in the morning and when I am home around six or seven, my eye makeup is still fresh. 2. make your eyeshadow color vivid. You know how disappointed you are when you apply a color that looks completely different on your eyelids from how it looks in the packaging. This primer helps the eyeshadow stay true to its original color and appear vivid on your eyes.  Where to get it: online, Sephora counter

Coastal Scent's88 color eyeshadow palette

  • Coastal Scents 88 color eyeshadow palette ($18.95): Yes, that’s right. It’s that inexpensive. This palette has almost all the colors a girl needs to create thousands of looks. The color pay-off is excellent. It was once the trend among YouTube beauty fanatics —everybody has to get one. Each pan that contains the color is about dime-size. It is after all, a great value. Where to get it: online from Coastalscents.com

Benefit "That Gal" brightening face primer

  • Benefit’s That Gal brightening face primer ($28): The second primer I am recommending today. This is a primer for your face. I have fun every time when I apply this on my face: you need to twist this little tube and pink liquid comes out from the top. This pink primer definitely brightens the entire face and gives it a dewy sheen. It helps preparing the entire face for foundation, concealer and powder. I usually use this on my face and set with MAC’s Mineralized Skin Finish.  Where to get it: Benefits counter at department store, Benefits stand-alone boutiques, Benefits shelf at Sephora, and online

Benefit Dr.feelgood's Lipscription

  • Benefit Dr. feelgood’s Lipscription ($32): It comes in a set: a tube of Buffying Lip Beads and a Silky Lip balm. I know too many girls who have flaky, chapped, even bleeding lips because of the dry and cold winter. These two lip products will save your lips. The lip balm is Vaseline-based so it gives the freshly-scrubbed lips this smooth, silky feeling. I am not a fan of its packaging. Well, maybe I was never too hot on Benefit’s packaging in general, but these two tubes are small enough to be carried around in a makeup bag, they are my best friends in the winter. Where to get it: Benefits counter at department store, Benefits stand-alone boutiques, and online

YSL Rouge Volupté Lipstick

  • YSL Rouge Volupté Lipstick ($34): Need I say more? I wrote a review of this lipstick not long ago, and I suggest you read it for yourself. It is unparallel from the lipstick texture, color to the luxurious packaging. Go get it! Where to get it: YSL counter at department stores, YSL shelf at Sephora, and online.

Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

  • Giorgio Armani’s Luminous Silk Foundation ($59): Every single Giorgio Armani makeup artist raves about this product. You have to believe it is magical: Everything you ask for from an ideal foundation comes true in this bottle. This liquid foundation flows easily on the skin and almost instantly dries into a natural, slightly matte finish with a faint hint of shine. It is so light yet covers very, very well. After you put this foundation on, you feel like you are wearing nothing. This foundation comes in 15 different shades from 0 to 12. I am using 5, I have to say I love it! Where to get it: Giorgio Armani counters at luxury specialty stores.

There you go. The products I swear by. Some of them are luxuries, some are essentials, find what you really need to enhance your/your girl’s makeup effects. I am sure you/your girl will love them! Don’t forget to tell me what you/they think 🙂

1 Response to "St. Valentine’s Day Gift Ideas for Her"

[…] makeup. I do use Benefit That Gal Brightening Face Primer for the ease of makeup application. ( see brief review ). If I need heavy coverage all over my face, I use Giorgio Armani’s Luminous Silk […]

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

