The Beauty Journal

Birthday/Valentine’s Day Haul

Posted on: February 16, 2010

I have to start this post by putting on the picture first of course!

Hello ladies,

This is a glance at the gifts and some of my own purchases over the weekend. First of all, a very big thank you to all of my lovely friends who showed up at the surprise birthday party my boyfriend planned on Friday (my actual birthday is this Wednesday). I loved every single one of the gift I received.

I would like to start from the biggest box in the very back:

  • Yves Saint Laurent Parisienne Edu De Parfum Fragrance set: This is a fragrance I had my eyes on for a really long time. Considering so many bottles I have yet to use for the spring I hesitated on buying it. But I know I will if I keep eyeing it for a little longer. Little did I know, my friend got it for me. It is a very rosy and sweet scent. If you are a fan of Miss Dior Chérie, you will love YSL Parisienne. I will do a review on this for my Spring Perfume Series, that is coming soon. Before my detailed review, I think you should check out this TV commercial if you haven’t.
  • Yves Saint Laurent Ombres Duolumières Eye Shadow Duo in #15: Two very shimmering colors that are almost neutral for everyday use. They are a pink (shimmering quartz) and purple (deep amethyst). I have a good picture in mind using this duo and some other lavender colors I have to create an evening look.
  • Chanel Poure Douce (soft pressed powder) in #30 Rosée: This kind of powder comes in three shades. Mine is the shimmering pink. Just like all other Chanel cosmetics, the packaging is very simple and elegant. This pressed powder comes in a dark blue velvet pouch and the brush goes with it has its own little Chanel logoed pouch as well. The powder color is very beautiful, however my skin tone is still a little too yellowish for using it to set the makeup for my entire face. I can use it for highlights for sure.
  • The Lancôme skin care traveling set: Love it when everything comes in travel sizes! Iit just makes everyone’s life easier! This set comes in a very cute makeup bag, there are a couple of items I want to test out soon: one is the Bi-facil double action eye makeup remover, this award-winning makeup remover has a very mild formula that soothes your skin while removing all the makeup off your face. I have heard a lot of good things about this makeup remover and I will try it as soon as my MAC one rums out. Of course I can’t neglect these two tubes of candy-color lipgloss. I should do a swatch for you girls soon for the lipsticks and lipgloss I love.
  • MAC Viva Glam lipstick in Gaga: Yes! I had to get it! I love Lady Gaga’s songs, music videos, and performances. Personally I believe she is the true next Madonna. So when MAC has her lipstick, I had to get it and I am so happy I got it! The lipstick is a lustre finish in a very pretty pink (swatch coming soon). The packaging is the classic viva glam packaging plus Lady Gaga’s autograph printed on the tube and the box. I am debating if I should just get a second tube for keep sake or in case this one runs out. Any ideas girls?
  • Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat Radiant Touch: To the right of my Gaga lippie, is a um..liquid highlighterish concealer. Well, it is multi-functional to different skin tones. For me, I got shade #1, in Luminous Radiance and use it as a over-the-makeup concealer when I need mid-day touch-ups. The texture of the liquid is just right to be tapped onto the skin so it dries to a nice sheer finish. I had to get a under-the-eye concealer after Benefit’s Erase Paste failed me miserably. Good thing about this concealer is you can carry it everywhere you go and do simple touches whenever you want.
  • MAC Spring Colour Forecast collection rosy outlook eyeshadow: surprise, surprise. I thought I would buy a lot from this collection but I ended up getting only this one eye shadow. This dusty pink eyeshadow is not as boring and it has a satin finish to it.
  • MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack: Just a refill for what I ran out. A jet black gel eyeliner that gives a very defined, sharp look. I use MAC 263 small angle brush to apply the eyeliner.

This post is outrageously long and I have to stop here. What are the good choices and what are the bad ones? I shall soon find out or you can tell me what you think 🙂

5 Responses to "Birthday/Valentine’s Day Haul"

Wow, that is quite a haul! Happy belated birthday 🙂

I don’t think you should get a backup of the gaga lipstick. You’ll always have the packaging after you use it up (and the little stub of color leftover at the bottom), right? And if she is going to be the next Madonna, I’m sure there is a lot more merchandise where that came from!

Thank you Jennifer 🙂

I totally agree with you on the gag lipstick. Today I wore it and I feel it looks just like some other lip colors I have… I will need to figure out how to make it different.

Adam showed me your huge haul…wow! You are already so into makeups!

Impressive!.

Obviously you know a lot about this

We really support Mi by our action!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

