The Beauty Journal

Review: L’OCCITANE Shea Butter Hand Cream

Posted on: March 14, 2010

Some of you may already know, I am in a forever search for the perfect eye cream. It is a good thing that I have already found the best hand cream out there. I have fallen in love with it, and decide to stay faithful to it as long as it is available on the market.

L'OCCITANE Shea Butter Hand Cream 5.2 oz/ 150ml

L’OCCITANE Shea Butter Hand Cream works as a miracle for my hands in the dry and windy weather in Chicago. The cream is almost in a paste form, and I only need a little bit every time to get both of my hands well moisturized. The cream has everything it takes to keep my hands young and hydrated: 20% of shea butter, honey, and sweet almond extract, coconut oil, and vitamin E. The Paste sinks into my skin very quickly, and it does not leave my hands greasy AT ALL. I may never find out what the cream does after it sinks in,  but it solves all the irritating feelings I have when my hands are dry, and it makes my hands feel and look completely different. The cream smells very nice too, it has a very pleasant mixture of jasmine and ylang ylang scent, which is not overwhelming at all.

The only down side is its packaging. While it is a great idea to keep the hand cream in a tube to prevent the product from getting contaminated, the aluminum material they use is too soft. Little holes will appear after constant wear and tear of the cream. The tube can be very wrinkled and veiny, some of the product will leak away from the small holes when you try to squeeze the tube. The traveling size packaging is stronger than larger sized ones.

L'OCCITANE Shea Butter Hand Cream packaging comparison: a brand new tube and an old used-up one with small wholes

However, the product is so good I can overcome the packaging problem and use it whenever my hands are dry. It is an investment, the 5.2 oz tube costs $26, and the traveling size 1.0 oz is priced $10 for each. I usually purchase the 5.2 oz one and squeeze some of the product into a small sample jar, and carry the sample jar in my purse for on-the-go usage.

I have tried so many hand creams, both high and low end, scented and unscented products. L’OCCITANE Shea Butter Hand cream has been in my purse, on my desk for almost three years now. And I always keep a back-up incase I run out.

8 Responses to "Review: L’OCCITANE Shea Butter Hand Cream"

thank you for sharing!! i surely gonna try this after im done with my Avene cold cream hand cream 😀

I’m glad that you liked it. 🙂 This hand cream is definitely worthy of investment.

I’ve been using it for 2 years! I always buy the travel size. It really surprises me that the bigger size is actually half price of the travel size per oz.
I’m gonna do the same thing as you. The sample jar is also from L’Occitane or just some random container?

Haha…I remember me going through your makeup bag and found that you have the same hand cream. You can get those sample jars from any drugstore, or like what I do, cleaned the sample jars I got from MAC, or any other department store makeup counter, and put my hand cream there.

I agree with Mei, I’m using Avene cold cream for hands but I think I’ll try this one next :-). The smell sounds like it would be lovely.
I agree about the soft metal tubes – it makes it impossible to just chuck it in your handbag and not worry about it.

You can start with the traveling size to see if you like it or not. I think they use plastic for the travel size packaging.

That’s a great idea. In fact I recently finished a sample of L’occitanes Shea eye balm – if your on the search for a perfect eye cream you should consider it, have you tried it yet?. I thought it was fantastic and I wrote up a review here: http://www.parkitweb.com/skinsavers/2010/03/10/loccitane-ultra-rich-eye-balm/

You like to wear perfume? You can not match the perfume which you want to use? or You want to know where the original perfume and fake?
Now You’ll find all the answers about the perfume here, feel more confident & more smart in choosing a perfume.

Check out:
http://dominickatki23.insanejournal.com/451.html

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

