The Beauty Journal

TAG: 40 Beauty Questions

Posted on: March 15, 2010

The other day I saw this tag post and I thought it was a great idea to learn other people’s beauty and skin care routines. So I decided to post one here. Hope this post will give you an idea how I take care of my skin and my take on cosmetics. If you would like to answers these questions, just copy + paste the following questions, and give out your answers! It will be fun! Here I tag a very pretty girl, who also runs a beauty blog, Mei. I love her posts, and her blog is so cute!

It’s going to be a very long, long post…


SKINCARE

How many times do you wash your face daily?
Twice – I wash my face before I go to sleep and after I wake up.

-What skin type do you have? (dry,oily,combo)
I have normal-combination skin. I am often a little oily in my T-zone.

-What is your current facial wash?
For mornings, I use Boots Botanics Moisturising Deep Clean Foam (see review here). It is a very basic gentle facial wash. I don’t need a heavy duty one for mornings, since I have a very rich antioxidant night cream on for the night.

For evenings, I use MAC lightful foaming creme ย cleanser. This baby is my new favorite. It cleans very well, and does not dehydrate my skin. I am planning to write a review about it.

-Do you exfoliate?
Yes. But I don’t exfoliate as often as most people do. I have very thin and delicate skin, and my current exfoliator is a topical scrubber, my skin simply cannot stand constant abrading.

-What brand do you use?
I use St. Ives Apricot Scrub. of all the skin care products I have, I believe it offers the best value. $3.29 for 6 oz, it lasts me a whole year!

-What moisturizer do you use?
Chanel’s Hydramax + Active moisture gel cream. Nothing special at all. I am definitely going to try something new once I run out. I mix the gel cream with Peter Thomas Roth Max Sheer All Day Defense Moisture lotion SPF 30 for day time use.

For night cream, I use Clinique Super Rescue Antioxidant Night Moisturizer (see review here). ย Loving it, on my second tube now.

-Do you have freckles?
Yes – I hate them, my boyfriend loves them. They are especially visible in summer.

-Do you use eye cream?
Yes. for morning I use Chanel Precision Energizing Multi-protection eye cream SPF 15. (see review here) Not a good product at all. I just want to finish it and move on. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

For nights, I use Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado. It does what the web site says, it does not migrate into my eyes, but other than that… it is just another mediocre eye cream.

-Do you or did you have acne prone skin?
I am blessed with my grandparents’ genes…I never had acne problems growing up. I do have occasional minor breakouts from lack of sleep or anxiety.

-Did you ever have to use Pro-activ?
Nope.

MAKE-UP
-What foundation do you use?
I rarely use foundation. I personally believe the less the better. I do use Benefit That Gal Brightening Face Primer for the ease of makeup application. ( see brief review ). If I need heavy coverage all over my face, I use Giorgio Armani’s Luminous Silk Foundation. (see brief review). Although I am tempted to try NARS Sheer Glow Foundation, the shade I am interested in is out of stock nation wide.

-How about concealer?
MAC select cover-up in NC 25.

-Do you know your undertone color?
Yes, my undertone color is yellow. (Hence I use NC face products from MAC) My skin color is considered very fair among East Asian skin tones.

-What do you think of fake eyelashes?
They are beautiful! I personally collect Shu Uemura’s dramatic lashes for special occasions.

-Did you know that you are supposed to change your mascara every 3 months?
Yes. But for most of the time I wear glasses. My lashes will smudge my lenses if I apply mascara on them. So I don’t usually use mascara that often. ๐Ÿ˜›

-What brand of mascara do you use?
I like Chanel, YSL, and CoverGirl.

-Sephora or MAC?
Both. I love most of MAC’s products, and I enjoy the ย one-stop shopping experience at Sephora. I also love Sephora’s Beauty Insider loyalty program, and I am a proud VIB ๐Ÿ™‚

-Do you have a MAC Pro-card?
No. I’m not a makeup artist, nor did I receive any professional trainings in this field. I am just interested in skin care and cosmetics.

-What makeup tools do you use in make up application?
My fingers and countless brushes

-Do you use make-up base/primer for the eyes?
Yes . Urban Decay Eye Primer Potion (See Brief review here)

-For the face?
Yes. As I mentioned earlier, I use Benefit That Gal brightening face primer for my face (see brief reviewย here).

-What is your favorite eyeshadow (color or shade)?
Electra by MAC.

-Do you use pencil or liquid eyeliner?
I use pencil and gel eyeliner. I feel liquid eyeliner can be too harsh and harder to control.

-How often do you poke your eyes with an eyeliner pencil?
Ouch! Thank God I never do. Just be very careful when you apply them. It is your eyes you are dealing with.

-What do you think of pigment eyeshadows?
I like them for dramatic effects. I have very limited amount of pigment eyeshadows. Most of the time I wear very neutral colors, and if I decide a night out in the clubs, I use them.

-Do you use mineral makeup?
Yes. I use MAC MSF in Perfect Topping (limited edition from the sugar sweet collection) for sculpting effects, and another one in Neutral/Shimmer to set my makeup.

-What is your favorite lipstick?
It changes from time to time. However I have to say, the lipstick that cannot go wrong is MAC Angel (see review here).

-How about lipgloss?
Again, it changes from time to time… Right now it’s NARS lip gloss in Tempest.

-What is your favorite blush to use?
Well Dressed by MAC.

-Do you buy your makeup on ebay?
Nope. For purchasing cosmetics, I don’t feel secure unless I see the real thing. I need to make a purchasing decision based on the swatches.

-Do you like drugstore makeup?
I do. I believe some of them are as good as their expensive, department store counterparts.

-Do you go to CCO’s? (cosmetic company outlets)
Yes I do. I love CCOs. I always find some very good limited edition cosmetics every time when I visit the store.

-Did you ever consider taking make-up classes?
Yes I would love to. Up till now, I am 100% self-taught and I would love to learn more about makeup.

-Are you clumsy in putting on makeup?
I think everybody is if he/she is in a rush. So I always make sure I have extra time in hand to get ready before I step out of the house.

-Name a makeup crime that you hate?
Cakey makeup. It looks very unnatural. It also makes the entire face very dull, dead, and shapeless.

-Do you like colorful shades of makeup (lipstick,eyeshadow) or neutral ones?
I like neutrals for most of the time. When I am going almost nude on my eyes, I like to have brighter lips to balance out the colors on my face.

-Which celebrity always has great make up?
I don’t have a specific one.I am inspired by many looks and blend the elements together to create my own look.

-If you could leave the house using just ONE make up item,what would you use?
Eyeshadow to fill my eye brows: this will define the entire face and give it structure.

-Could you ever leave the house without any makeup on?
In fact I do that a lot. I only apply makeup when I need to. For work and school , I need to look presentable and polished. For friends night out or romantic dinner dates I try something more dramatic. But for most of the days, I slap on lip conditioner after I moisturize my skin and I am ready to go.

-Do you think you look good even without any makeup on?
I am happy with how I look without any makeup, but I know I look better with some on.

-In your opinion, what is the BEST makeup line?
MAC. They provide such substantial lines of shades and textures for face, lip, eyes…etc. No one in the industry can compete with that.

-What do you think of Makeup?
It should not be the essential in one’s life. I use makeup to enhance my features, not to change anything I already have. In terms of application, I believe the less the better. I strive to have a healthy and natural look with the help of makeup. But the easiest way to look fabulous is always, always wear a confident smile.

14 Responses to "TAG: 40 Beauty Questions"

This is a cool questionnaire, I hope you don’t mind if I borrow some of the questions?

Not at all ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you so much for tagging our blog Michelle! ๐Ÿ˜€
i have question about the Kielh’s avocado eye cream,, do you only use it in winter or summer too? are they kinda oily? like does it affect ur undereye concealer application afterward? and have you noticed any calcium built ups? what is your eye area condition oily or dry, sensitive??
sorry so many question lol~ i have been eyeing this eye cream for a long time!

hey Mei, I am curious about your answers!
I started using it in the winter, and I only use it before I go to bed. It may look kinda oily, in fact it quickly forms into a gel form around my eye area. Therefore my eye areas become sticky and glossy looking. I never tried to wear make up on top of the Kiehl’s eye cream…so I don’t know…There isn’t any build ups, it did not work wonders on my dark circles either…

Also forgot to mention, my eye area condition is normal to dry

you guys are so professional! lol
what is calcium built ups?

Haha, Mei beat me to the question you asked. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also tag you Loretta, with this questionnaire. If you have time haha ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for the tag Michelle~ Mei and I nominated you for an award on our blog, please come and check it out ๐Ÿ˜€

Thank you Ai! I never get a chance to say hi to you! I really enjoy reading your blog! You guys are awesome! Could you explain more on this I โค your blog award? I am so honored to among so many great blogs out there!

the award is for blogs which you newly discovered and love! which means we love yours as well :DD
you can put up the logo on your blog, you can also link other bloggers you love too~

Hi Michelle, thanks for the answer! and for saving my money of not buying the eye cream LOL. You know I didn’t get at first but are me and Ai supposed to also do the questionaire?? LOL sorry we’re still new to the whole blogging style!
We currently have lots projects due in the next few weeks T^ T it’s already hard keep the regular posts coming > < but we'll definitely do it sometime when we have more time~~~ ๐Ÿ˜€

Loretta: calcium built up is the little bums you get around your eye area when you are using eye cream that is too rich for your skin type! just in case Michelle didn't get a chance to explain to you yet~ ๐Ÿ™‚

Hey Mei!
No problems. What is a beauty blog for anyway? I’m glad my insights helped ๐Ÿ™‚
I know how insanely-long this questionnaire is…so please you two, take your time.

Great “question” post!
I’ll borrow it, if you don’t mind! ๐Ÿ˜‰

[…] found this tag on The Beauty Journal‘s blog here on […]

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

