The Beauty Journal

Review: Lipstick Queen and Rouge Coco

Posted on: March 19, 2010

Hello ladies,

These are the the lip products I am experimenting right now. I must say, they are two extremes…I am loving one, and hating the other.

Lipstick Queen in Saint Nude

Lipstick Queen Shine in Red Sinner, Gold Saint, Opal Saint, and Silver Saint

Chanel Rouge Coco in Rose Comète

Yes, I have had my low moments with Chanel skin care, but its makeup line is overall satisfactory. Rouge Coco is the latest lipstick line launched by Chanel last month. Out of 30 colors, I chose something very fresh: number 20 in Rose Comète. I have to say, yes I am loving it! The sheen looks similar to the Chanel glossimer I have in Rosesand. Except that its shade is a frosty, purple pink. The lipstick is very pigmented, and very smooth to apply on. The lipstick has a nice rosy smell. I have to say it is a joy to apply it on. Rouge Coco’s packaging is derived from the original design back in 1952: sleek black packaging with white double C logo on top. I have heard stories about how engineers and designers tested hundreds of packaging designs to get the right click sound when you snap the lid on.

Chanel Rouge Coco in Rose Comète

Chanel Rouge Coco in Rose Comète swatch

Chanel Rouge Coco in Rose Comète lip swatch

On the contrary, I do not like Lipstick Queen products at all. A little background information on the brand: Lipstick Queen by Poppy is exclusively sold at Barney’s New York. Back in the mid 90s, Poppy King formulated her lipsticks and received wide popularity for its beautifully selected colors and smooth texture. Poppy was MIA for a little while in the cosmetics world but came back with her Lipstick Queen line. This lipsticks are divided into two categories: Saint (sheer) and Sinner (opaque matte).

I got the lipstick in Saint Nude. When I opened the tube, this rubbery smell greeted my nose. Ewwww… The color pay-off is actually not bad from this lipstick. However, It was not a pleasant experience applying the color onto my lips: It was not smooth, and because of unflattering smell, I felt I was wearing rubber on my lips all the time. 😦 The lipglosses from Lipstick Queen are slightly better. The two tinted ones: Red Sinner and Opal Saint are easier to apply on. Their textures are creamy enough for application, but the other two, Gold and Silver Saints are too hard to break in, not even to mention my struggle to put them onto my lips. In my opinion, lipglosses are supposed to be creamy. Sometimes I even prefer them to be a little liquidy, so it’s easy to enhance the lipstick colors I wear under them. I know a lot of people are loving this one shade from Lipstick Queen called Medieval, but I think I have tried this brand, it failed me miserably, therefore I have no interest in purchasing any Lipstick Queen products in the future.

Lipstick Queen in Saint Nude Swatch

Lipstick Queen in Saint Nude Swatch

8 Responses to "Review: Lipstick Queen and Rouge Coco"

ohhh you know i’m also one of those who enjoy the clicking sound of any caps hahaha~
and i know exactly what you mean by the rubber smell!! like lipstick from our mom’s times is it?? i guess they even remained the smell from the 90’s!!

Then you will definitely like this new line Mei! Yea…the smell really bothers me… Good thing I got the lipstick for discounted prices…

nice and very informative writeup keep it up. http://bit.ly/cciyP1

Despite the bad qualities I think the Lipstick Queen shade looks really good on you, I think even more so than the Chanel rogue coco.

Aww..thank you. Now I’m in a dilemma: should I use keep it then? I like the color too…But the smell bothers me so much…

Definitely don’t stick with it if you hate the smell – if only the rogue coco had that color! I’d try to find the same shade from a different brand.

hey Amanda, what brand are you looking for?

[…] Review: lipstick queen and rouge coco | the beauty journal On the contrary, i do not like lipstick queen products at all. a little background information on the brand: lipstick queen by poppy is exclusively sold at. […]

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

