The Beauty Journal

Tutorial: Prep your face for spring/summer

Posted on: April 1, 2010

Hello ladies! Tomorrow the temperature is going to reach up to 82 degrees! It is indeed getting warmer! Is your complexion ready for summer? I know I had been hiding indoors all the time in the cold, cold winter…My face is very fair. Now it is time to add some healthy glow and dimensions to my face!

Here is how I prep my face for the warm weather (for detailed explanation, see the captions below each picture):

1. Starting with a clean and well moisturized face. I am wearing nothing on my face just eye makeup. As you can see, I have some blemishes, freckles, and discoloring around my cheek area.

1. Start with a clean and well moisturized face

2. Use Benefit’s “That Gal” brightening face primer to even out the skin tone and brighten the face.

Use Benefit's brightening face primer

Use a basic foundation brush (MAC 190)

3. Here is the magical trio for the base: Giorgio Armani’s Luminous Silk Foundation + NARS Multiple Bronzer in Cap Vert + NARS Orgasm Illuminator

My magical trio for a good base

4. First apply NARS Orgasm Illuminator onto the apples of my cheeks.

Usually this amount is good enough for my entire face. Because the illuminator is really liquid-y

Apply the illuminator onto the apples of my cheeks, and spread them with finger tips toward my temples

5. Now use NARS Multiple Bronzer in Cap Vert as a crayon and apply it to the area just below my cheek bone. This will help to sculpt my face.

Here is a little tip to find the right area for bronzing: suck in your cheeks, the area that sinks in is the area for you to apply bronzer

One pump of GA's Luminous Silk Foundation is enough to mix it up with the bronzer

Now spread the foundation and bronzer together. This will cover all the imperfections on my skin in the same time create dimension on my face

6. After sculpting, it’s time to highlight. Here I use Benefit’s High Beam luminescent complexion enhancer.

I love this product a lot. It gives my face a very natural and dewy glow

Apply the highlighter to the places you want to accentuate.

Here I apply it on my forehead, nose, the highest points of my cheekbone, and a little bit on my chin.

Even the lines out with my fingers.

Even the highlighter out with gentle strokes of my fingers

7. Now I am all set with the liquid foundation and highlighter. It is time for powders to set the base!

With Orgasm Illuminator and my natural complexion, I already have a warm, pinkish glow on my cheeks, so I am setting the blush using MAC Prim & Proper powder blush.

It is a tanned pink, which is just what I need for my face for a healthy glow

Very lightly, sweep the blush with an angled face brush (MAC 168)

Just below the blush, I am going to use the tanned, golden part of MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Perfect Topping

Try to avoid the pink part, and use a clean brush for bronzing

Apply the MSF right below the blush. Can't find the area again? suck you cheeks in ;P

The darkest shade of bronzer is for final contouring. I am using MAC bronzing powder in Golden, to give this warm shade to my face.

I use the same brush I used for MAC MSF for this bronzer

Simply trace my jawline starting from the area close to my ear lope

Trace my hairline all the way down till it disappears

8. Finally, I use MAC mineralize skinfinish in Medium/Natural with shimmers to blend all the lines I created with different shades of powder, and set the entire face.

I love this powder! MAC has discontinued it long time ago, but you can find plenty of them at a CCO store.

Quickly sweep it with a big face brush (MAC 150)

Quickly sweep the powder over the entire face

Here you go! All my imperfections are gone, my face has more dimensions and I have a warm, healthy complexion just right for the spring and summer! Don’t forget to wear SPF 30 + skin care products before you apply makeup! Have fun!

I put lipstick on just to get you a complete "after" look

1 Response to "Tutorial: Prep your face for spring/summer"

This piece of writing presents clear idea in favor of the
new viewers of blogging, that truly how to do running a blog.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

