The Beauty Journal

Haul: MAC limited editions purchases

Posted on: April 26, 2010

You girls think I would miss out any of the special collections from MAC? No! The reason why I didn’t posted any pictures for MAC’s recently launched collections until today was because I cherry-picked very few products from  Art Supplies and Prep for Colour collections (I only bought two items), until I got a little carried away shopping Prêt-à-papier Collection.

Prêt-à-papier Collection (note: the paint pot is not from the collection)

I think I have gone all nude during that one visit to MAC store…The colors I chose from the collections are all very nude-toned except the lipstick.

Prêt-à-papier Collection (note: the paint pot is not from the collection)

NC15/NW20 Chromagraphic Pencil

My skin tone is between NC 20 and NC 25. When Mac comes out with only two shades of Chromagraphic Pencils of NC15/NW20 and NW25/NC30, what a girl like me should do? After trying on both color, I decided I wanted NC15/NW20. This shade is a light nude with a creamy feel. Just like a pencil for sketching pictures, this Chromagraphic Pencil from MAC is used for outlining and defining features on your face. I use it for lining my waterlines (yes, sometimes you don’t have to use white color eyeliners if you want a more subtle feel) or highlighting tear docks (you can blend the defined lines to a softer look) . It works perfectly for lining lips as well (that’s why I bought one extra, eyes and lips don’t mix).

Prêt-à-papier Nail Lacquer in Brown Bag

I admit I’m a contradiction. As for nails…I either love very subtle colors like nude, or flesh-toned shades, on the other hand, I am crazy about  loud colors like Chanel Vamp and Black Satin. I never bother with the colors in between these two extremes. Brown Bag is on the subtle end of my spectrum. It is a darkened flesh-toned color with champaign shimmers. I have a nude nail color from Sephora by OPI called Nonfat Soy Half Caff (sounds delicious!) that is much lighter than Brown Bag and closer to my skin tone. Brown Bag gives my hand a more polished look while Nonfat Soy Half Caff is not that noticeable on my nails. I love them both. For swatch of this color, read on.

Eyeshadow in Tissue Weight

Prêt-à-papier Eyeshadow in Tissue Weight

Tissue Weight is a frosty, pink-toned beige color. It works perfectly if you apply it all over the eyelids. I am now debating which color is better, Tissue Weight or Shroom?

Prêt-à-papier lipstick in dressmaker, dressmaker

This is perhaps the only non-nude shade I got from that one visit to MAC store. This lipstick color is coral-peach toned with a lustre finish. It looks very natural on my lips, however this lipstick picks up flakes very easily.

Prêt-à-papier lipstick in dressmaker, dressmaker swatch

MAC Paint Pot in Painterly (stable item)

This is the only product I purchased that is not from any collections. It is a flesh colored cream for eyes. I use this paint pot as a base just like how I use Urban Decay Eye Primer Potion to prime my eyes. This slightly pinkish color creates a very smooth and fresh base for my eye shadow application.

Moving on…to Prep for Colour Collection…

.

Prep for Colour MAC face Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF 50

The collection does not consist of many products to start with…Before the collection came out, I read about the product information and I knew I needed a primer that has high SPF 50. As we all know, sun protection is crucial to skin care and preventing pre-mature skin aging. Applying sunblock is very important part of skin care/makeup routine. This primer is a light-weight liquid that provides a smooth finish to the face.

MAC Prep + Prime Face Protect

It’s a white cream that can be evened out into a sheer layer that is easily absorbed by the skin. As for now, I am loving it and I use it every time before I go out and greet the sun.

MAC Art Supplies Collection Pearlglide Intense Eye liner in Industrial

Last item from MAC’s Art Supplies Collection, is this Pearglide Intense Eye Liner in Industrial. This eye liner color is a silvery blue with purple and teal shimmers. It was not hard  to pick it out from the six-color set as it is the most beautiful color. Using this eyeliner, it is really easy to create a nice smokey eye for a night-out.

Here is a swatch of this eyeliner, and on my nails, I am wearing brown bag.

Pearlglide Intense Eyeliner and Brown Bag Nail Lacquer swatch

This is all for the MAC purchases I have made recently.

One tip/reminder for those of you who can’t get enough of MAC, collect all the used plastic containers from MAC, bring them back to MAC counters/stores, you can benefit from their recycle program: For six plastic containers you bring in, you can get one of lip products (except for VIVA GLAM liptsicks because they are sold for MAC’s AIDS foundation) or eye shadows. I brought 12 MAC containers to the store the other day, and got my dressmaker, dressmaker lipstick and tissue weight eye shadow for free! Save money, stay beautiful, and be an environmentally conscious consumer 🙂

My plastic containers from MAC

Hope you enjoyed this post. I have more exciting posts coming, until then, stay beautiful! Ciao!

6 Responses to "Haul: MAC limited editions purchases"

i love the last nail polish you are wearing!! i have a similar shade from safora but not as brown 🙂
your haul posts are such eye candies since i dont have enough $ to get those myself :PP

Thank you 🙂 What color is that? I love nude colors on nails. They make your fingers look very neat and long.

When are you updating your blog? Are you still very busy with school?

the colour is called “under my trench coat” i believe?
update soon~~

Great post! I saw a couple typos I thought you might want to fix: tear docks (ducts), stable (staple) item.

Oooo nice 🙂 I’m loving the brown nail polish this season, have you tried/seen Chanels particulare #505? I love it, it’s a mix between brown and gray and it is the perfect match to a chocolate Burmese cat.!

hello!,I really like your writing very much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more about your
article on AOL? I need an expert on this area to resolve my
problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

